Arachis

As mentionned in the cowpeas thread, we had last summer in britanny a mediterranean-like climate. So I wonder if arachis would grow., even with small productivity.
Has any of you aver cultivated arachis ? I would love to know how you proceed, what difficulties you faced, what results you got.
I never tried that crop, so I am a complete beginner !

I’m in zone 8b in Florida and when I’ve grown arachis the biggest issues I’ve had were animals. First moles ate many of the seeds I planted, then deer and rabbits ate most of the adult plants. The ones that made it stood up despite the pressure and I ended up with a few plants making it and they grew about two feet tall by the end of the year. Otherwise, they love our heat and rainy summers.

If you don’t have animal issues I think they’re definitely worth growing. (I love peanuts)

When you say arachis, are you talking about peanuts, or are you talking about other species in the same genus, too? I’ve seen mention of there being other plants in the genus that are edible, and I’m curious about whether any of those are easy to grow and taste good.

are there other species than peanuts in the arachis family ?

OK, thank you for the details about animals. Yes I noticed that deer love fabaceas… our garden is enclosed. so we should be OK from deer. For the rest, I shall see.
One question : do you say they NEED a lot of water to produce or just that they stand rainy conditions ? I thought they were drought -resistant …

Loads!

Peanuts (Arachis hypogaea) are the only ones I know anything about, but I’ve seen the perennial peanut (Arachis glabrata) being sold as a garden plant, and I suspect there are more that may be useful. I just don’t know anything about them except that they exist!

1 Like

I’ve been wondering about their water needs, too!