Landrace Seed Libraries, Everywhere?

I’m meeting with a local library in a couple days and they’re asking for advice on starting a seed swap. I’ve done a bunch of research into seed-saving and I’ve been doing it for about 6 years but I’m far from an expert. So my question is: should we, in the Landrace community, put together simple guidelines for landrace swapping as something that can be included in local seed lending libraries? It seems that a local lending bank would lead to landrace crops anyway. Maybe it could just be a page with, say 4 easy crops to start with, and guidelines for how to save seeds, avoid sterility etc. It probably should be super super simple.

On Cape Cod we have two other libraries within 30 miles that have recently started seed lending and it seems that it would be a great opportunity to get community landrace building going to include landrace projects, say starting with a few easy crops, as part of every library swap around the country? After all, we’re aiming for ‘locally-adapted’ seeds.

When I talk about landrace with non-gardeners, scientists and generally savvy people, they all thinks it’s obvious and a great idea but when I talk to gardeners I get a luke-warm response. Maybe it’s too complicated for them to think about or they’re all set with their heirloom varieties (?). But, I can imagine our small town library and several local gardeners getting excited about growing their own ‘Eastham Landrace Turnip’ which grows huge in our sandy soil and I just learned about. I think that would be a great boon to gardeners everywhere.

So, any suggestions for a simple paired down, maybe 10 step, set of guidelines?

Thanks!

1 Like
  1. Look for varieties that are already adapted and have been grown from seed in your area at least 3 plant generations.
  2. Keep seeds from the tastiest and best adapted plants