Tomato styles keep coming off with the anther cone during emasculation

I’m a noob, so I figure I’m doing something wrong. I’ve tried several different plants (and varieties). All are small still, enough that I’m surprised they’re producing flowers. They were direct-sown, and I figure are a little early in the season.

Anyway; I’ve been trying to pull the anther cones off various flowers, and each and every one pulls the style off with it. I’ve tried different stages of flower development, from all green to fully open. I’m being very careful to only grasp the anther cone and not anything more, I’m reasonably certain; I’ve got good eyes and small fingers.

Can anyone tell what I’m doing wrong? I’ve only got so few flowers or I would keep trial-and-erroring it. My best guess is that the flowers aren’t formed well because the plant is still too immature for producing them correctly, and that my attempts would be successful on older plants.

3 Likes

Try taking off one anther at a time instead of the whole cone. If you find a variety with large sturdy stigmas that might make a better mother.

5 Likes

I don’t try to pull the petals and anthers from the flower.

I typically use a small scalpel to cut the anther cones from the flower.

I use about 3X or 4X reading glasses.

In any case, the location where the style broke from the flower is susceptible to pollination.

The polyamorous tomatoes are a joy to work with, because the anther cones don’t need to be removed.

2 Likes